Founders Circle

The Founder’s Circle is an honor group affiliated with the Rock Island-Milan Education Foundation for persons who have not graduated from Rock Island High School but have made significant contributions to furthering the mission of the Rock Island-Milan School District.

Founders Circle Award winner Vic Boblett with Legend winner Dr. Paula Arnell, Gina Lawrence and Julie Zarlatanes

The 2012 Founders Circle Award winner was Vic Boblett. A graduate of the University of Illinois; coached football for 36 years; served the last 21 years as the Director of Development and head football coach for Rock Island High School; a driving force behind creating the Rock Island Youth Football program in 1993; inducted into the Illinois Football Coaches Hall of Fame.

Download Founders Circle nomination form
Eligibility criteria include:

  • Significant service or leadership to Rock Island-Milan schools or to District #41
  • Achievements in the individual’s profession
  • Service to the community
  • Achievement of excellence in a worthy field of endeavor

The class of honorees will be reviewed by the previous years’ Founder’s Circle award recipients and approved by the Board of Directors of the Rock Island-Milan Education Foundation.

Awardees will be honored at an awards ceremony, receive a plaque, and have their name added to a plaque inside Rock Island High School.

Nominations must be received by June 3, 2013.



Past  Winners:
Walter Braud
Grant & Virginia Brissman
Ted Davies
Gerald Huiskamp
Russ Kennel
Mollie Parker Montgomery
Roger Nothdorf
Duncan Reid
Gary Rowe
Clyde Schoeck
Pat Verschoore